OSCPA awards top members for 2022

June 14, 2022

OKLAHOMA CITY— The Oklahoma Society of Certified Public Accountants (OSCPA) honored its top members in nine different categories at its 2022 Annual Members Meeting held in Norman, Okla. on June 10, 2022.

The following members were commended for their commitment and dedication to the accounting profession:

Oklahoma Accounting Hall of Fame

Each year, the OSCPA selects one individual to join its most elite group of Oklahoma CPAs who have set a new standard for the profession through their successes. 

Steve Milam, CPA/PFS – 2022 Oklahoma Accounting Hall of Fame
Milam & Associates, PLLC – Tulsa, Okla.

Outstanding Member in Business and Industry

Each year the OSCPA’s Members in Industry Committee selects one deserving member for their outstanding achievements in business and industry.

Jim Small, CPA, CGMA – 2022 Outstanding Member in Business and Industry
Carrefour Associates, LLC – Tulsa, Okla.

Rick Kells Outstanding Tax Professional

Each year the OSCPA’s Taxation Committee recognizes the exceptional achievements and leadership of one CPA practicing in taxation through its Rick Kells Outstanding Tax Professional Award. This award honors the late Rick Kells, an esteemed tax professional and fellow OSCPA member.

Forrest “Bo” Olson Jr., CPA, CVA – 2022 Rick Kells Outstanding Tax Professional
Olson Neaves & Co., PC – Oklahoma City, Okla.

Outstanding Accounting Educator

The OSCPA’s Liaison with Educational Institutions Committee selects a distinguished accounting educator for teaching excellence, innovating educational techniques, motivating students and contributing to the accounting profession.

Evan Shough, CPA, PhD – 2022 Outstanding Accounting Educator
University of Central Oklahoma – Edmond, Okla.

Gold and Silver Pen Award

Each year, the OSCPA’s Editorial Board votes to award its Pen Awards to the top two articles contributed by members to the Society magazine,

Brent Watson, CPA – Gold Pen Award
SALTA PLLC – Tulsa, Okla.

Daniel Skerbitz, CPA – Silver Pen Award
Stanfield + O’Dell – Tulsa, Okla.


Dedication. Commitment. These are all qualities branded by the OSCPA’s Trailblazer awards. Each year, the OSCPA’s Public Relations Committee selects the top talent in the profession to join the newest class of the Society’s most reputable new CPAs.

Kency Duarte, CPA
Arledge & Associates, PC – Edmond, Okla.

Nikki Henley, CPA
Hall Capital LLC – Oklahoma City, Okla.

Colin Kennedy, CPA
Bank7 – Oklahoma City, Okla.

Ghalia Nelson, CPA
Muret CPA, PLLC – Tulsa, Okla.

Ethan Thomas, CPA
HoganTaylor LLP – Tulsa, Okla.


Each year, the OSCPA’s Public Relations Committee also recognizes the top mentors of the profession. Those who have businesses prowess, making an impact on the profession by shaping tomorrow’s leaders.

Henry Bickerstaff, CPA
Henry Bickerstaff, CPA – Alva, Okla.

James Denton, CPA/PFS, CGMA
Arledge – Edmond, Okla.

Steve Milam, CPA/PFS
Milam & Associates, PLLC – Tulsa, Okla.

Randy Thurman, CPA/PFS, CFP
Retirement Investment Advisors, Inc. – Oklahoma City, Okla.

With more than 6,500 members in public practice, industry, government and education, the OSCPA is Oklahoma’s only statewide professional association of CPAs. Since 1918, the organization has continued to provide professional education, conduct quality reviews and promote and maintain high standards of integrity and competence within the accounting profession. Visit www.oscpa.com for information about the OSCPA.